The Ice Road Painter (& the Hudson) head to Louisville…

A shot as we were loading up from last year's show in Louisville...
A shot as we were loading up from last year’s show in Louisville…

This week I’m off to Louisville, KY for the 2015 Carl Casper Auto Show, another in our ISCA shows this season. We showed here last year as well and had a great time. As a result of the ISCA’s point system and our need for a “small” show in order to qualify for the Finals again this year and the fact that I really enjoyed the show last year, we decided to put Louisville in to our travel schedule this year.

As fate would have it, I am driving north, directly in to the wake of Winter Storm Octavia’s all too recent impact. I do love winter, snow in particular, however driving on ice is just plain stressful among other things. The highway itself wasn’t bad, though once exited and on the side streets it was a totally different story.

Hanging with the big boys...
Hanging with the big boys…

I was not able to leave the shop until about 1 pm today because of the demands of getting a friend’s project polished out in preparation for the Detroit Autorama in a couple weeks. I wanted to leave much earlier, yet the blessing in disguise was that Octavia had slipped on by and left her imprint on the landscape hours before.

Once I arrived at my hotel near Little Rock, I found the entire area covered in what looked like snow but was actually ice – and lots of it. I had to park the truck & trailer in a lot across the street, or was it a skating rink? Navigating to the hotel was quite a test of my balance and my boots’ grip.

The Parking Rink...
The Parking Rink…

For now, its time to go in to hibernation for the evening. Tomorrow we shall see how the continuing journey to the North develops. Patience Grasshopper, Octavia has left her mark…

vaya con Dios,

Randy

Leave a Reply

