2-0 in Little Rock

BlueBelle_LittleRock2011-63

Greetings to all . Penny and Richard Weiss’s Blue Belle has finally hit the road. Despite a rare snow and ice storm that hit Little Rock last Sunday afternoon and evening, and a subsequent 2 day delay in leaving, we recently returned from our trip over to Little Rock, Arkansas for their ISCA Autorama. In a nutshell, it was the highest quality “little show” I have ever been to. Plus, Blue Belle was able to garner a first in the Mild Sports class and an Outstanding Sports Car award. This puts us well on our way to attempting to win an ISCA class championship.

2011 Little Rock-13

Carol Dolan, the promoter, managed to assemble some of the nation’s finest cars and trucks in a highly competitive arena of rolling art. Most of these were in a quest for the coveted Trick Six award (not unlike the Riddler of Detroit and the Millwinder of Houston shows). The winner ultimatley gets the honor, plus $5000.00. Not too shabby.

COLOR ME HUMBLED…

So George Barris (THE George Barris) walks up, sticks out his hand and says the color on Blue Belle is the prettiest color blue he has ever seen and that he would love to use it on an upcoming Merc he is building. Wow, I didn’t see that one coming! What an honor. It may be one of those ‘private’ victories, but its one I will keep forever.

George Barris 2011

TRICK SIX AWARD

DSC_0230

Gold Digger, the winner. Oh yeah, they own a gold mine.

DSC_0152

2011 Little Rock-10DSC_0294

DSC_0292DSC_0359

FOR DISPLAY PURPOSES ONLY…

Also present were some unbelievable ‘marquis cars’ by some of the biggest names in the business.

Gil Losi’s Starliner convertible….painted by Charlie Hutton (the guy from the American Hot RodTV show) and yes, it is brown, yes, it is that straight and, yes, it is stunning.

DSC_0343DSC_0335

SIDE NOTE: we painted this Woody for Gil a few years ago. Great guy.

2006 Dallas Goodguys (46)

CamAir by Yogi’s

DSC_0180

ThrillBilly ‘Cuda by Roger Berman

2011 Little Rock-30

DSC_0272

‘67 Camaro “Scar” by Roger Berman

DSC_0264

DSC_0265 

The Little Rock Blizzard of 2011

The storm blew in Sunday afternoon and carried through Monday, leaving millions stranded without power, food or shelter. Okay, maybe it wasn’t quite that bad, but it was enough to shut the city, and major freeways all the way back to Texas, down for a couple of days. Personally, other than missing my family, I loved it! You’d think, with Houston being the winter wonderland that it is, I would have had enough snow, ice and cold, but NO! The more the snow fell, and the colder it got, the cooler it was (yes, that was a pun, and still is).

View out the ‘motel winder’…I call it ‘motel’ because it drives my wife nuts when I call a very nice hotel (the Peabody is that for sure) a motel, so I do it every chance I get. Thanks to Carol again for getting the show participants a “normal” rate at the only 4-star hotel in Little Rock. If you’re gonna get stranded, it might as well be there. Otherwise, I heard that Tom Bodet left the light on for me…

2011 Little Rock-452011 Little Rock-43

With everything loaded and nowhere to go, I wandered around the old district of the town. I dig the vintage architecture (probably because my ‘architecture’ is aging as well, we have a lot in common).

2011 Little Rock-592011 Little Rock-65

2011 Little Rock-762011 Little Rock-82

Mr. Cool Clothing store, need I say more? Across the street, I stumbled upon this Military Surplus store having its 140th. If you do the math, they must have started by selling Civil War leftovers?2011 Little Rock-792011 Little Rock-80

The long drive home…finally

The storm left the roads and freeways shut down for most of Monday. We decided on Tuesday morning to attempt the questionable drive down I-30 to Texas. We found the roads passable, but the traffic SLOW. I sat in the longest traffic jamb of my life, probably 15 miles. Ice, snow, bridges and a long incline led to LOTS of wrecks. I am definitely glad I didn’t try to leave on Monday morning. 4 star hotel or wrecked in the trees…hmmm, what to do?

2011 Little Rock-942011 Little Rock-95

So there you have it, the Journey of Blue Belle to Little Rock and their big ‘little’ autorama. My apologies, as it seems as if my ‘blog’ has turned into a ‘blovel’.

Grand National Roadster Show in Pomona, California…here we come.

until next time,

Randy

3 thoughts on “2-0 in Little Rock”

  1. What an honor from George Barris, it doesn’t surprise me. The car is beautiful. What a great memory of a trip. Thanks for the story as well.

  2. OMG — Randy you are my knight in shining armour — thank you so much for the story, the faith in my vision, the INCREDIBLE paint job, the intro to Ronnie Magnus so we could give Belle the clothes she so deserved and for this terrific, terrific experience that we hope keeps on going. I love you and and ALL the guys at the PAINTHOUSE! Many hugs, Penny

Leave a Reply

