Boxing?

My son threw me a curve ball this year. He requested to take boxing lessons.

I have no problem with that, it’s just that I never really considered it as an option. In Texas, you certainly think football, baseball, basketball, even soccer or martial arts; but boxing was not a sport I thought he would like to try.

He has taken lessons two times now, and seems to be enjoying it. I am glad to see him work hard at this. He is our youngest of 3, and the least “athletic”, at least until now. I love watching my kids play their sports, so I was worried that I wouldn’t get to continue that self-serving past time with kid #3.

I asked around and found an ex-heavyweight professional fighter that is coaching at local gym, and we so far really dig him. He is very “northeastern” and is from Philly, the same city “you know who” is from (at least in the movie). I would not want to be on the wrong side of this gentleman.

Maybe boxing will stick. Rocky is one of my all-time favorite movies, so at the risk of sounding cheesey, I love the fact that my son has taken up such a fascinating sport. Of late, boxing has taken a back seat to its own controversy in addition to the MMA phenomenon. At least for now, we have gotten him away from a TV or computer and into something not only physically, but mentally challenging.

Time will tell….until next time,

Randy

Leave a Reply

