Dear Sprint, (uh-oh, here I go again…)

This was written in response to a form letter send out after several recent multi-hour sessions with them, both via phone support and at the store, hoping that I would just shut up and take it their way by “complementing” them on  the fine job they have done for me. I have had a long-term, ongoing, dysfunctional relationship with Sprint, the corporation. The individuals that I encounter are not the problem, usually; it is the company in general and it’s policies, that have continued to get my “goat”. I am tired of big companies (and government) taking advantage of us normal people and hope this grabs someone’s attention up the food chain in Sprint-ville, USA. We’ll see.

Hello Sprint,

No, my issue has not been resolved. It is not necessarily Levay’s fault, but she was my latest contact with the “Corporate” side of Sprint.

I have been a customer of yours for many years. I have spent a lot of money with Sprint (4 lines and a wireless card) in those years. At least it is a lot to me, anyway. You obviously have access to my historical account notes and can review them if you like. We have had many problems throughout our history together, and most of them have gotten solved, albeit after many hours of phone calls, stress and, eventually, frustration and anger on my part. Does it always have to be this way, Sprint?

I want to like you, and have stayed loyal for many years, despite all the problems, lost time/money on my part not to mention your company’s lackluster phone variety. And more importantly, there is the sad fact that your Customer Service/Retention group and your Corporate Store personnel give directly conflicting information, resulting in immature and frustrating “finger pointing” between them and no answers for us, the customers. You guys/gals are obviously on opposite teams and there is no synergy between the two of you. From a long-time customer, and self-employed businessman, I can easily say your “total is less than the sum of your parts”. If I ran my business ( www.painthousetx.com ) anywhere near as incongruently as yours, I would not be in business.

As one customer, with only 5 lines, spending $410.00/month, I guess I am not even a drop in the pond compared to the number of customers as a whole. I have been doing my research about you and other carriers, and it seems as though you are ‘bleeding’ customers this last year. I can see why. I am about to be another. The things I asked of the Store and Retentions, which could have easily calmed my “storm”, did not seem unreasonable; and, yet, each side said the other should be able to do these things, but that ‘they’ couldn’t. I find it very unprofessional and disheartening that Retentions/Customer Service says derogatory things about the Store personnel and, conversely, the Store personnel have their own negative things to say about the Retentions/Customer Service side of Sprint. The store I frequent is a Corporate store, not Third party, so that even makes the issue worse in my mind. How do you expect to survive in this competitive market/depressed economy with such turmoil within your corporation?

If my customers were experiencing both sides in such an adversarial fashion, I think I would not have many of them left in short order. Just because you have many millions of them, don’t think that it won’t sneak up on you quickly and ruin your reputation and business. I would refer you to the many forums out there that indicate such a trend is well under way. Despite what our president may say, you are not “too big to fail”. None of us are. That is how capitalism works, and I would propose that you are no longer the strongest in the herd; and we know what happens to the weak in such an environment. In no uncertain terms: your product may have brought you to the game, but it is your customer service, or lack thereof, that will determine whether you win or lose. There are no “ties” in business, or life, for that matter.

So, take this piece of advice from a small businessman that cares: put the customers first. Without us, you have nothing to sell and no one to sell to. Listen to our requests, and be willing to apply some common sense (a very uncommon commodity in today’s politically correct world) when needed. Sometimes the rules have to be ‘flexed’ to keep the big picture in focus. I do it as well, on an “as needed” basis. Life, and business, is not totally black and white. There are a lot of grey areas that need personal attention and individual decisions. It is not “one size fits all”. You can try to stuff us all in one box, but, sooner or later, we will get out and go elsewhere.

Cell phones are a necessity today, so I have to spend the dollars to keep an active plan for my family and business. Therefore, I am looking for another provider, and will most likely be leaving your services. Somebody is going to get my $410.00 per month; as my company continues to grow, more lines ($$$) will be added to our needs. Do you care enough to respond to this letter, or will it be filed, or deleted, away?

The ball is in your court….you know how to reach me.

Randy Borcherding / PAINTHOUSE

One thought on “Dear Sprint, (uh-oh, here I go again…)”

Leave a Reply

